Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Feeling Those Monday Vibes

on November 4, 2013

1385590_721458451215325_1091000721_n

Being retired, for some time now Mondays seemed to just blend in with the other six days of the week.

“What’s today?” Dan would ask.

“Does it matter?” I would throw back.

“I should mow the lawn.”

“You can mow it tomorrow, it’s not that high yet.”

“What day is tomorrow?”

“Does it matter?” Then I would ask him if he was holding any two’s, since I needed them to win the game of “Fish” we’d be playing.

Yes, the excitement and thrill of facing a new week was gone. Up until a week ago, the only days that I had to keep track of were for doctor’s appointments and trash day.  But, now that I’m in school, the Monday vibes have returned and I’m loving it!

Since last week was my first week of class, and I’m returning to the academic world for the first time in 45 years, I was pretty stressed.  There were times, when I felt that my eyes were bleeding from all the reading and my arthritic hands would never unclasp after taking all those notes, I would shout out “What the Hell have I done?”

But, Friday I took my first test and did quite well (B+) and on Saturday morning I took the last test for the week…again, an unamazing B+.  But, I’m happy with the scores and Dan gave me a pat on the back…and of course, other assignments I completed during the week might bring that average up a bit…so all is well.

The rest of the weekend was spent on “We” time; Danny and I got to work out in the yard, watch football together and basically, just hang out.  I got some rest from the books and he got my total attention for the weekend.

Now that Monday’s here, I’m up and raring to go.  It’s been years since I felt the excitement a Monday can bring…new adventures in learning, new stories to tell and a new start to the week.  Hell, I feel so good, I might do some “twerking.”

…well, maybe not!

For those of you who don’t share my delight…I understand.  I remember waking up to an alarm; getting dressed for work and already starting to count the days until Friday.  But, if you are one of these poor souls..cheer up!

garfield

I hope everyone has a great week!

Love,

Cranky

11 responses to “Feeling Those Monday Vibes

  1. bittygirl51 says:

    Excited and happy for you! Congrats on the B+’s. Loved those “older than the average student” days as well and miss them sometimes. This Monday I got up looking forward to the “domestic arts” as I have no 2 yr. old grandson underfoot today. Laundry, dusting, vacumming, sewing etc; I will also begin writing my annual essay for LHJ today.

  2. bittygirl51 says:

    Oh, and I’m a “twerker” from way back…and I still got what it takes!!

  3. D.G.Kaye says:

    Good for you! They say hindsight is 20/20 but life is a circle and now doing the things that we dreaded when we were younger is so much more appreciated!

  4. Gwen Stephens says:

    Oh, that video has me smiling! I’m glad you can appreciate the thrill of a Monday. Me, I look forward to Fridays.

  5. Bastet says:

    Good go! Glad that everything is working out so nicely…you guys deserve it!

  6. mcwoman says:

    What class are you taking? It sounds so exciting. I always loved school — and now as a teacher, I get to see the other side of the page.

Leave a Reply

