Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Who Gives A Duck?

on December 21, 2013

phil-robertson-getty-gospel-according-to-phil-gq-magazine

Phil Robertson – Redneck Extraordinaire

If you’re expecting this post to be about religion, politics or my views on homosexuality…you might as well click on out of here right now.  Cranky doesn’t write about those things.

Before I begin, for those of you who might not know me, I’m a Northerner who escaped the long, cold winters of New England for the warm Southern nights in Florida over twenty-five years ago.  I have met many “Phil Robertson’s” in my years here.  I also have a son who is gay and I love him, cherish him, and support his lifestyle as long as it brings him happiness. BOOM! Enough said.

Now, let’s take a look at what really happened to Phil Robertson.

The guy gives an interview (yes, I’ve just finished reading it and you can find it here) to a reporter from GQ magazine.  OK, let’s stop right there!  Why is GQ interested in Phil Robertson? Are they going to advertise his duck whistles? Are they interested in opening a “Phil Robertson” line of clothing franchise? Hmmm..no, I believe GQ wanted a funny, satirical, controversial expose on Phil and his redneck ways.

So, what happens? Phil expounds on his own personal beliefs in regards to black oppression and homosexuals. Wow…Phil is the FIRST person to do this, right? Now, gay and liberal rights groups have a new Anti-Gay Poster Boy and religious leaders and bigots have a new Redneck Idol to support…shouting “Free Speech.” A & E adds fuel to the fire by suspending Phil for speaking his mind on what he believes.

1470281_629239883801564_1749810709_n

Yup, we now have a controversy larger than Gun Control whipping around the Internet and the news media.  C’mon…who gives a duck?

Could this whole controversy been avoided? Oh yeah. If A & E wanted to protect the patriarch of the Duck Dynasty Cash Cow, they should have sent a staff member over to his shack and taught him the meaning of “this is off the record” or “No comment” thereby robbing the journalist out of one of the juiciest bits for his article.

Phil could have remembered that what you say to a journalist can come back and bite you in the butt. They’re careful on the show not to thump those bibles too loud on controversial issues…so, what was Phil thinking?  Being a true blue redneck, probably not much about the effects his words would have on the future of his reality show.

The end result of all this hullabaloo will probably be that A & E loses some viewers from this broo-ha-ha and eventually Duck Dynasty will be cancelled. Phil and his family have made so much money off the show that they most likely won’t be hurt by all the bad publicity.  They’ll just fade off into the woods and blow up some more beaver dams without cameras tracking their every move and thought.

So, let’s cut everyone a break and move on. After all, with all the other business this nation needs to attend to, do we really need to use Phil as an example of what we personally believe in? I think we can find some better role models than this poor redneck from the deep woods to pick on. And, in all fairness, Phil also was quoted in the same piece as saying:

 “You put in your article that the Robertson family really believes strongly that if the human race loved each other and they loved God, we would just be better off.” Now, come on people, who can argue with that one?

I’m going to share a great piece of advice a teacher who once told me (regarding remarks that went against what I believed in), “Consider the source,” she said. “Always consider the source!”

So, when people ask me what I think about this whole uproar, I say “Who Gives A Duck?”

Just sayin’.

Cranky

17 responses to “Who Gives A Duck?

  1. btg5885 says:

    And, of course, we again won’t talk about our real problems in this country and have to listen to pundits and politicians wax on. Duckman learned a fact of celebrity life, everything you say becomes a lightning rod. Is it fair – no? Do celebrate opinions deserve more weight because they are celebrity – definitely no. I don’t agree with what Duckman says, but he has the right to think and say it. Just, like we have the right to choose what to do with what he said. It doesn’t effect me either way, as I wasn’t watching him anyway and did not even know his name until I saw it articles. Good post. BTG

    • M E McMahon says:

      Thanks! And I agree…like I said, next year, who’s going to be talking about this guy? I have never watched an episode…never will. Not because of this episode of foolishness…but because I have a life and it’s too short to spend watching reality TV! Ducks or not!

  2. btg5885 says:

    Typo – it should say “celebrity.”

  3. bittygirl51 says:

    You read my mind. I was gonna blog about this topic yesterday, but decided he had had enough press. Waste of my time. If we were closer in miles, I think we would be friends. We think and often speak alike, The only place I differ is that I am an evangelical Christian and do believe homosexuality to be a sin, just as I believe hate, resentment, bigotry blah, blah, blah to all be sin as well. I also have gay family members and I love them regardless. What I believe or don’t believe (well, they know) I don’t have to speak it to them. I will love them as Jesus loves us. I have “glanced” at a couple of his programs as i was surfing, but REALLY A & E??? Seems ironic, that in Reality TV you can’t be real. At least not if it crosses the line into your liberal agenda. I’m not a big TV person – especially reality TV, but one thing is for sure – I’m not supportive of A&E firing him and think they did as the Food Network did with Paula Deen, bit off more than they could chew!

    • M E McMahon says:

      Right on! And, great minds do think alike. Hopefully the world will move on and Phil can get back to whistling Dixie to his ducks! 🙂

      And, I already consider us friends. If you’ve ever in Florida drop in and we’ll chew the fat!

  4. Reblogged this on 5 Degrees Of Inspiration and commented:
    My thoughts exactly….

  5. Basharr says:

    I wrote about Phil on my blog, I like the old guy but you know what I truly believe he doesn’t care about A&E or what most anybody thinks about him he is a man obviously comfortable in his own skin. I commend you for owning your views and opinions I will not argue my points here out of respect. =).

    • M E McMahon says:

      Hey, I don’t expect everyone to agree with me and I almost didn’t write this post. But, I think Phil is being Phil and the journalist exploited that. Phil’s views are not new or original…he is just being crucified because he has a reality television show.

      I also don’t agree with A & E’s decision..and I don’t even watch the show. I feel as bad as I did when Paula Dean was crucified in the press. Who hasn’t said something that was taken out of context…or had been said or thought by many other people and later wondered if they might have stated it in a different way.

      You, my friend, can always argue your points with me…if I can intelligently answer back..I will. But, my main point in writing this post was to say “Enough is Enough!” Leave the guy alone and let him follow his beliefs in his bible the way he wants and let A & E let Duck Dynasty die it’s own natural death.

      As for the free speech issues, I am a firm supporter of it…I don’t always like what I read or hear but I know that the constitution gives the writers the right to say it. I also have the right not to read, watch or listen to it. That’s what makes America great!

      Missed talking to you…and hope all is well with you and yours! Going over to your now, which I’m sure states Phil’s case better than I could.

      • Basharr says:

        You know my main issue is we have a problem in America as with Chic-fil-et the ownership was honest in their feelings and for their honesty they were boycotted There is a large sector of this nation that does not want honesty. I cannot stand political correctness and I don’t like people who cannot handle the truth. The truth may or may not be in what Phil said but he has a right to free speech. It is the attempt to silence him that is unamerican. Some of my close friends from High school are gay we get along fine. Not everybody is going to accept everybody, thats life..=) People cannot force acceptance. Night it is past my bed time..=)

        By the way I truly respected your post knowing it took strength to write.

      • M E McMahon says:

        Thanks! And, of course, Phil has the right to say those things. And, Americans have the right to either listen or shut him out. That’s what makes America great.

        And thanks for the support in your last statement.
        Now, get some sleep!

  6. barbtaub says:

    Who gives a flying duck? Well, frankly, I do. Nobody cares if someone calls, “Fire!” in the privacy of his own home. But when you put him up on a stage in a crowded theater and hand him a mike, then that same yell could cause untold damage. I have close family members who are gay. One, a teacher, has spent decades devoting herself to the children she teaches — and fighting the discrimination from colleagues, administration, and public. I promise that she wouldn’t find it so easy to say that it’s fine for A&E and/or GQ to provide a pulpit for hate messages. When voicing “what he believes” crosses over into hate speech, it crosses a line that I care about.

    • M E McMahon says:

      If you read the article, he didn’t say he hated gays. He was asked what constitutes a sin…he answered “homosexuality, bestiality, adultery, etc.” He also said that his family believes that the bible says to love thy neighbor..so on his behalf..I think the guy just quoted the bible in answer to that one.

      I myself am not a big fan of people with a big mouth that speaks against gays..my stepson is gay. The whole point of the post was to say that people should consider who’s speaking! He’s a redneck, he was born a redneck and cancelling his show is never going to change his beliefs. My stepson also encounters discrimination and we hope that someday..someway…people will realize that just because someone is “different” than straights..it doesn’t make them wrong or a bad person.

      This whole episode started with a magazine interview..although I’ve researched this guy and he also spouts biblical verses against gays in public. The only way we can support the gay community is to NOT listen to jerks like this. By putting the spotlight on Phil Robertson, people have succeeded only in creating a new “Poster boy” for Anti-Gays and bigots. Sad, but true.

      You have a right to be mad..I’m just saying that if NO-ONE except the idiots that agree with this redneck watch his show, buys his products or supports his sponsers…you will soon see the DYNASTY tumble.

      Still Friends?

      Cranky

      • barbtaub says:

        Spouting hate even in the form of a bible citation is not acceptable. The same section of the bible that is usually quoted in support of anti-gay statements also prohibits wearing clothes made of leather or blended fabrics, or eating pork, rabbit, or shellfish. It also warns of the dire consequences not only of touching a woman who is menstruating, but of touching *anything* she touches.

        So if Mr. My-Neck-Is-So-Red-I-Can-Say-Anything-I-Damn-Well-Want-Cause-The-Bible-Says-So wears leather shoes and a cotton-polyester shirt, or if he chows down on bacon, or rabbit, or crab, or if he touches anything that a menstruating woman has touched, he’d better be ready for the consequences also named in Leviticus including being forced to eat the flesh of his children as his eyes rot out. And finally, Leviticus also adds that ignorance of the law is no excuse: it’s still bye-bye kids and eyeballs.

        I’m just sayin…

        [oops… breathes hard…] I’ve been so successful in staying away from this one up till now. I’m climbing back on the wagon. Really. Friends forever, but I think we’ll have to agree to disagree on this one.

      • M E McMahon says:

        Oh, I think we agree on a lot of this! Glad we’re still buddies…thank goodness. I don’t read the bible…probably because of the eyeballs and flesh eating bits…but if I were Phil, I’d think twice about that bacon for breakfast!

        Glad you got it off your chest…and if you can’t rant at your friends…who can you rant to? Thanks for reading and your comments. I’m also going back to not writing about controversial subjects..it’s just that I’m tired of hearing about Phil!

  7. Gwen Stephens says:

    Yet another example of our news media making a mountain out of a molehill. By stirring up a controversy where one didn’t exist, A&E may have also drawn curious viewers to the show. The whole thing could have been calculated from the beginning. But in the end I’m with you. I really couldn’t give a duck.

    • M E McMahon says:

      Thank goodness someone sees the hype for what it is! I never even heard of this guy until his picture started appearing all over Facebook (making me question again..why the hell am I on Facebook?) Anyway, let’s just hope this and his show fades away into oblivion and we can concentrate on more important things!

Leave a Reply

