Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Remember Me?

on January 21, 2014

1001270_534273963334115_845315234_n

I know….I know! I haven’t posted in weeks and believe me, it hasn’t been easy not to click into WordPress.  However, I’ve been having a tough time in my latest class “Public Speaking” and I haven’t spent time on my site…that time has been spent on this Horrible, Horrible course!

I used to do Public Speaking but it was 25 years ago.  I have forgotten more then I can remember and as easy as it sounds to write out a simple outline, stand up and deliver the damn thing…it’s a lot of work.  Research, audience analysis, blah, blah, blah.

Who knew such an innocent sounding course would be keeping me up at night? Anyway, since I’m not a quitter, I will survive this horrible, horrible course and then I’ll be back to say “hi” on a more regular basis.  Love ya all and hope all is fine!  Just be patient with me until I get through this horrible, horrible course!

Who would have ever thought that I’m actually looking forward to my next course, Biology! Guess I’d rather dissect a frog then give a speech!

Take care and I’ll be back soon!

Love,

Cranky

P.S. Have I mentioned that this is a horrible, horrible course?

15 responses to “Remember Me?

  1. joannesisco says:

    Your ‘horrible, horrible course’ made me smile. I can sympathize with you since I went through something similar many years ago. If it makes you feel better, know that it could be worse. They could be videotaping you while you are delivering these speeches then playing them back for you while they do the critique. Yikes!
    Good luck!

    • M E McMahon says:

      Oh Lord! That would be worse. I did have to tape mine and send it to the instructor. I searched for ways to have the thing self destruct once viewed…but alas, no luck! Now I have to do another speech next week! Yuck!

  2. btg5885 says:

    Mary Ellen, best wishes on finishing it up. I love your Dr. Seuss piece. For some reason, you reminded me of an old friend who used to say “always tell the truth, as you don’t have to remember as much.” Have a great week. Speak well, my friend, BTG

  3. grannyK says:

    Good luck! Just remember, “this, too, shall pass”

  4. barbtaub says:

    I used to give little classes to new hires on how to do presentations. I always told them that the hardest thing would be to start without saying the word, “so”. Even hearing that, most of them could not do it.

    So, how did your speech go?

    • M E McMahon says:

      I’d answer this but I’m too busy rolling on the floor laughing! Danny was polite and well behaved during the speech, however, he got the giggles over how I pronounce “Idea.” I’m from New England and never was able to drop the “r” off of idear. Oh well, it took three takes but I finally said the hell with it and sent the last one to the instructor!

      Thanks for the chuckle!

  5. CharleneMcD says:

    You can do it!!! This horrible horrible course will be over before you know it and then on to new adventures. Have fun, you only get to do this once, so enjoy every horrible moment.

  6. Basharr says:

    You can do it, returning to school often brings anxiety that you did not expect. Keep plugging at it, I had biology early on in my return to school, it is actually pretty easy. Good luck. =)

    • M E McMahon says:

      I’m a writer because I hate..hate..hate speaking in Public! Luckily, being an online student, I get to choose my audience and they consist of family members. Just give them enough donuts and they behave.

      I’ve got the 1st speech out of the way so 1 more to go and then the worst part of this course is over!

      It’s funny, I chose this university because you take one course in a four week period instead of 3 courses over a 3 month period. I like that you can focus on one course for 4 weeks. That said, they really load up on you and it’s always a race against time to complete the assignments!

      But, so far, so good so once I get out of this class, it should go more smoothly!

      Great to hear from you!

      • Basharr says:

        Each of my courses are 6 weeks long, which works for me. My original online school had two courses and a week length. I too like focusing on one course and not feeling pressed to contend with a second course. BTW Doughnuts make me behave as well…LOL

  7. Bastet says:

    Nice to hear frome you dear…and like your new “dress”! Good luck dear I figuratively as I know you’ll get through this moment in a breeze!

  8. D.G.Kaye says:

    Never enough minutes in our day!

  9. Pete Denton says:

    Enjoy the rest of your horrible, horrible course 🙂

Leave a Reply

