Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Sad News – Shirley Temple has passed away.

on February 11, 2014

ALeqM5hGkN6p4cF9hyCzRxbvB3fu6zfqPQ

Shirley Temple Black

1928 – 2014

I can’t stop the tears. I feel like I’ve lost a little sister. Shirley Temple Black passed away today at the age of 85. The world has lost a talented child star and a great lady who did so much good work in her lifetime.

She will be missed but I’m sure she’s tapping away with the angels and putting lots of animal crackers in her soup! RIP Shirley!


20 responses to “Sad News – Shirley Temple has passed away.

  1. […] the song came to mind again when I read Grandma Says and discovered that Shirley Temple has passed away (February 10th 2014).  She was 85 years old and […]

  2. […] Sad News – Shirley Temple has passed away. (crankycaregiver.wordpress.com) […]

  3. btg5885 says:

    Thanks Mary Ellen. She was so talented so early. I wonder if her ambassadorships and adult life will be highlighted as much as her early stardom. My guess is in our entertainment culture, her stardom part will get the most attention. I think that shortchanges her contributions, which are many.

    • M E McMahon says:

      I know that my local station highlighted her political career in addition to her early movie career…but she is well known for those dimples in both careers!

      • btg5885 says:

        That she is. I remember Saturday Night Live did a skit where she played the younger movie version in her ambassador role. It was priceless. By the way, many have said the escapism of her movies helped so many through the depression. So, laughter and singing can make a difference.

  4. […] Sad News – Shirley Temple has passed away. […]

  5. Basharr says:

    My heart is broken on this day, when I was little I thought her movies were great, as an adult I had the opportunity to meet her once briefly as she toured the 7-up bottling factory where I worked in Oakland, Ca, Word was she sat on or was married to a member of the board of directors of 7up. I told her I loved her movies when I was a kid and she thanked me for remembering her. She did a lot of good in her life much of it during the great depression. Her movies made people smile and allowed them to forget about their troubles for a while in such trying times. Strange, I too last week was looking her up as I was telling my wife of how I met her briefly and at that point time I could not locate her connection to the 7up bottling corporation

    Yes she is probably tapping away again in her brilliant youth with the angels. At least that would be my hope for her.

  6. mcwoman says:

    Growing up, I loved her movies. He was such a sweet child and SO talented. The first time when I sang on stage, I was 11 years old and I sang, “On The Good Ship Lollipop,” and pretended I was her. She gave the world a lot of smiles. RIP

  7. Basharr says:

    Coming from mr. king Mr. Mercedes look it up pn amazon.

    • M E McMahon says:

      I just saw that yesterday…Amazon pings me when he has something new coming…I’m going to preorder! Thanks for the heads up! I think Joe King has one coming out soon too! I’ll have to check though, since I might have him mixed up with Dean Koontz..another fav of mine!

      • Basharr says:

        Will look for Joe King(hill) I liked Throttle I have some others he is involved in cannot remember the names. Throttle reminded me of a movie called “The Duel”

        Duel (TV Movie 1971) – IMDb

  8. Basharr says:

    I will quit writing about them here as I am getting closer to the top of the list!

Leave a comment