Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Have You Seen Me?

on June 20, 2014

gulch bike

 

 

This woman was last seen entering the hallowed halls of academia last October and she has not been heard from in months by her WordPress followers. Has she been abducted by aliens? Has she fallen into one of those infamous Florida sinkholes? Or, has she been sucked into the vortex of higher learning and is unable to find her way out?

Wait, is that the door to her Blog room opening! Yes, there she is. A little older, much wiser and now able to break free of those academic commitments long enough to say “Hey, y’all!”

Wow, it’s been a while, my friends! But, I am finally here and hope I will beย able to blog more often now that I’ve gotten two semesters under my belt. It’s starting to get a little easier in school once I’ve gotten used to how things work and what instructors are looking for. So, I now have a little more time to blog and oh, how I have missed you all!

I guess a quick update is in order. I am doing well in my studies as I have received 7 A’s and one B (Biology kicked my proverbial butt!). I’ve made Dean’s list twice so far and have just been accepted into the Beta Xi Upsilon Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society! How about them apples? I am now an official College Nerd! Who would have thunk that at the age of 63 I can still keep up with the young’uns? Currently, my GPA is 3.83 but Math courses have yet to be conquered!

So far I have survived courses such as Biology, Environmental Science, Economics, Public Speaking and been introduced to Psychology 101 and American Literature. I am currently in English Comp 1 with English Comp 2 following next month. Every course has taught me something new and exciting (okay, Biology, not so much!) and that thirst for knowledge continues on. I’m getting closer to deciding what I’ll major in for my Bachelor’s degree and am determined to go all the way with a Doctorate Degree (if my ticker and teeth hold out long enough.)

On the personal side, Danny is doing well and the doctor’s ย suspect that his Hepatitis C might be in remission! HALLELUJAH! He’s being retested in September so I’ve got my fingers crossed. Buddy is now over 100 pounds and rules the nest. He has turned into a wonderful companion and spends his day making the funniest faces! My kids are doing great! My granddaughter is now in the National Junior Honor Society and won Second Prize in the Florida State Science Fair. How about them apples!

I hate to say that my all of my writing time has been spent doing essays and papers for school. But, that’s okay since I’m sharpening my writing skills with every piece I write. It’s all about priorities right now and as long as I’m doing some type of writing, I’ll be okay! Although, I still sneak a peek at the stories I was working on before beingย shanghaied aboard the college train. And, more ideas are popping up daily, but for now, I just jot them down to work on at a later date.

So, how the hell have you all been? If you remember me, send me a comment! Let me know what’s new and exciting in your world. If you’re a new visitor, Welcome from a little old lady who is known to be “Cranky” at times but who loves her WordPress followers with a passion. I’m hoping I still have one or two left!

For now, I’ll sign off and hope to hear from all of y’all soon!

Love,

Cranky

 

48 responses to “Have You Seen Me?

  1. Bastet says:

    Hello Cranky! Nice to get some news from you and hope you realy will be able to do a bit of blog writing. Here things are going pretty good. Had some health set-backs and hubby has too, but that hasn’t kept us down. I’m glad that all is going well with you and hope you’ll stop by my place when you’ve got a chance. For now just let me say luv ya and glad to see you back home!

  2. mewhoami says:

    Hi there! Good to hear from you. You were just on my mind the other day. ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad to know that classes are good, and even more importantly that you and Danny are doing well. Thanks for touching base with all of us here in the blog world!

    • M E McMahon says:

      Hey, my friend! Thanks so much for thinking about me! You were probably wondering if I was just ignoring my budddies here or pushing up daisies!

      I hope all is well with you and yours and let’s talk more in the future. I hope to get to some sites tomorrow to catch up!

      Love ya!
      Cranky

  3. CharleneMcD says:

    Congratulations on all your accomplishments!!! That is fantastic. I have been missing your posts, they always make me smile. I can’t wait to see what you have decided on as your major and I say “Go for the Doctorate!!” As for me, I started writing my autobiography this month (okay, last week). I am about 29 pages in and have a long, long, long ways to go. I only have time to write in the evenings so I write about 1 or 2 chapters at a time. Because of this I have been neglecting my own blog so I totally understand not posting regularly. Have a wonderful summer, and enjoy the English classes.

    • M E McMahon says:

      Yes, I really want to go all the way just to hear someone say “Hey, Dr. Cranky!” But, that is a long way off and my dream of rolling my walker across the state will take quite a few years.

      I have missed all of you and that’s why I’m finally trying to squeeze in some time on my blog site. I’ve got to go back to socializing before I really become a major nerd!

      I once thought about writing my autobiography but held back as I don’t think anyone would believe it! ๐Ÿ™‚ Best of luck in that endeavor. Take your time and progress through the years and before you know it, I can read all your little secrets! Seriously, good luck and have patience.

      Thanks again for reading and commenting. Hope to talk to you soon!

  4. Jamie K. says:

    Hi! I’m still paying attention and keeping my eye out for your posts! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Basharr says:

    Strange, I seem to remember the name, but who knows it seems to be a memory from long long ago. But yes, welcome back. =)

    • M E McMahon says:

      Hey you! How have you been? Give me a bit and I want to get to your site to do some reading. It’s nice to connect with some of my old friends here! Hope all is well with you and yours.

      • Basharr says:

        Yes all is well thanks for asking was glad to hear Danny was doing better. My son inlaw has Hep C as well but he seems destined to continue to abuse his body.

      • M E McMahon says:

        I think the only thing that helped Danny is giving up the booze. Let’s hope your son-in-law sees the light because alcohol and Hep C just don’t make good life partners. We miss our party days but somethimes you’ve got to make the choice. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that your son-in-law sees the light! But, can’t help those who don’t want it!

      • Basharr says:

        It is true one can only help those who truly want help.

  6. bittygirl51 says:

    Cranky’s back!! Yay!! I really missed ya, girl! In fact, I sent you a message awhile back and when I didn’t hear back from you I was sure you had fallen off the face of the earth! So glad to hear it was just a bad case of being bogged down in academia!! Look at those grades, would ya??!! OMG!! Your head might get too big for this blogging stuff now that you realize how smart you are!! All’s well here. I’m getting fat as a town dog, while taking care of grandkids. I’ve got an extra 20 – 25 lbs…I need to shed, just can’t get motivated to do so. You would think all the sweat I expel while playing at the park in this Texas heat might do it, but NADA…If ya got time go back and read a few of my posts…I’m trying to post more frequently these days and other than taking care of grandkids..I’m still sewing and going to church. That’s about it.

    So glad you are back – at least for the time being.

    • M E McMahon says:

      Wow..taking care of grandkids, sewing, church activities! What do you do in your spare time? ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s great to hear you are doing really well. My dieting has been put on a shelf also. I haven’t lost any but I haven’t gained any so many this is the weight I’m doomed to carry to my grave. If so, bring on the Brownies!

      I’m not smart, I’m just committed and when I set out to do something…watch out world! The funny thing about starting a college degree late in life is that all your experiences really bring something to the table and make the younger students appreciate “Grandma’s wisdom.” In other words, I’ve got them fooled!

      Yes, I decided that all work and no play makes Cranky a dull girl so I’m back and ready to blog. I just have to set limits by commenting back on blogs and hoping I can squeeze in reading my fav’s (like yours). I also need to keep my comments short but based on this first one, I’m already doomed.

      Thanks so much for commenting and we’ll talk soon!

  7. Melanie says:

    Hello dear Cranky, missed you and your posts a lot; thank you for sharing these superb updates
    its really good to hear about college & how things are going there, glad to know you are getting along with this world;
    you are a living proof that its never too late to do what you wanna do
    i do really wish one day when i’ll be 63 i’ll have the will and the passion same as you do
    so proud of you, keep going & keep us updated
    best regards ๐Ÿ™‚
    oh yea and as for me i have just quit a boring job and am happy relaxing n looking for other alternatives so wish me luck ๐Ÿ™‚

    • M E McMahon says:

      There is nothing more exciting than escaping from tedious and taking time to search for new adventures! Good for you!

      You are right, it is never too late and I am having a ball. However, I missed being here a lot and talking with friends like you so I’m hoping to spend more time here!

      Thanks for the kind words and kick back and relax! Cranky’s back! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Gwen Stephens says:

    This is really coincidental timing, Crank, as just days ago I was wondering how you were doing as I scrolled through my WordPress Reader. I had a look at both of your blogs to make sure I hadn’t missed anything, if a post may have been delivered to my spam file by mistake. So glad to hear from you and get your sunshiny update! Hard to believe you’ve got 2 semesters under your belt already. I recall when you first started your biology class, which you tactfully told me was kicking your arse. Sounds as if everyone else is doing well, too. Glad to hear Danny is on the upswing. Life is good here in Chicago, survived the Winter from Hell and am now savoring the long, sweet summertime days. I’m participating in July’s Camp NaNoWriMo (partly inspired by you, when you did it) and looking forward to it!

    Glad to see you back in the blogosphere. I’ve missed you.
    Cheers,
    Gwen

    • M E McMahon says:

      It’s so good to hear from you, my fellow early writer! Time has flown but I’ve really missed being here! Glad to see you survived the winter. I don’t know how I used to do it in New England after being here in Florida for so many years. But, I still remember my nose freezing together when I stepped out the door!

      So happy you’re doing Camp NaNoWriMo. That was an experience I used to actually find out if I had what it takes to go the distance. The results are still sitting in a drawer, gathering dust, but I’ve never given up!

      Hope you and all are well and I’ll be talking to you soon!

  9. btg5885 says:

    We have missed you. Glad Danny’s doing better and you are officially a scholar. Shall we call you Dr. Cranky? Best wishes over the summer. BTG

    • M E McMahon says:

      It may take another 8 to ten years before “Dr. Cranky” becomes a reality. But, I’m determined to roll that walker across the stage to receive my Doctorate.

      I’m thinking about majoring in Psych and minoring in Criminology. Both fields will help my fictional writing and I might even be able to get some meaningful employment at the end of my education! That’s if I live long enough! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Missed all of you! We’ll talk more soon.

      • btg5885 says:

        Mary Ellen, you go girl. Live long, live like you want. You do what floats your boat. Take care, BTG

      • M E McMahon says:

        Hey you! Well, so far I’m taking your advice! Boat is floating although sometimes it seems to list to port! But, sure did miss talking with all of you! Thanks for touching base!

  10. joannesisco says:

    Hi Cranky – how nice to see you this morning!! You’ve been missed. I assumed you were buried in school. Congratulations on the success of your first 2 semesters. Personally, I don’t think a B in Biology ranks as kicking your ass. It seems to me that you kicked its ass ๐Ÿ™‚
    Welcome back! I know the summer heat is coming and it’s not your favourite time. Stay cool ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • M E McMahon says:

      Oh, the soul-sucking summer heat is here! I count the days until October when relief will arrive. Until then, I hide in the A/C and venture out only when necessary! I guess that makes me a “summer mole.”

      My adviser agrees with you on the “B” in Biology. The crappy part was that I did great on all the assignments but hated the tests. Couldn’t get over a 75 for the life of me! Can’t wait for math, algebra and college math! Subjects that will certainly give me a run for my money.

  11. mcwoman says:

    Remember you? Of course, I remember you! You are one of the most entertaining bloggers I read. I’ve missed you so much!

    Congratulations on your college success. I too went to school as an adult student–they affectionately called me “nontraditional.” made the Dean’s List every semester, and hassled with Biology, as you did. I graduated in four years later a BA in English with a writing concentration, as well as a minor in Communication and Women’s Studies. College was the best time of my life, even though courses were demanding, my grade school children were a challenge, and a husband who wasn’t in favor of what I was doing was a pain in the neck.

    Keep the faith, baby. It’s worth it!

    • M E McMahon says:

      I think I qualify as a “well-seasoned” student since I have salt and pepper hair. I’m loving school and luckily Danny is proud as punch at what I’ve achieved to date.

      I have really missed everyone here though. I take online classes and social interaction is limited. It’s time for me to get out and jive with my friends so I’ll be posting more often.

      Thanks for the encouragement! We’ll talk soon.

  12. Like so many others I’ve been thinking of you recently and hoping that you were doing okay. Sounds as if you are doing really, really well! Congratulations, and it’s good to see you back.

  13. Aurora says:

    I have been wondering where you you have been, and have really missed hearing from you. Outside of a health scare here a couple of months ago, things are pretty much the same around here. The baby is growing like a weed, and we are still hoping to move into new place sometime in the near future. Life is just having its usual ups and downs, you know how that goes.

  14. Kevin says:

    Oh, we all have lame reasons why we aren’t writing on our blogs…but you and your “I have to get good grades” takes the cake!! I wanted to hear stories of how you dominated your classes with your vast blogger’s wit!!

    Good to see your post! Have a great summer…or are you taking summer classes?

    • M E McMahon says:

      I get a week off in July and then nothing until December! Sadly, professors don’t find my “bloggers wit” acceptable in most of my classes. I was able to fling a few zingers in my last English Comp I class. Posted one today that got my professor to smile! Major achievement!

      Thanks for checking in!

      • Kevin says:

        Well, I’m just glad things are going well in school for you. I thought about going back for my Master’s degree (for no particular reason) until my friend told me the cost. Ah, no thanks….I still have to send my own kids through college!

      • M E McMahon says:

        Scholarships are helping somewhat. I’ve received two so far based on GPA and they will take some of the bite out of the total cost.

        Hey, when you’re kids get out of college and get rich, have them put YOU through school!

        Well, we can dream right?

  15. Not quite 40 says:

    Yeah! Good to hear from you ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Congratulations on your As and Bs and that impressive GPA. Those young ones in your university classes will certainly learn a lot from you. I like your passion and zest for life:)
    Yes, you will earn your doctorate degree- it’s already out in the universe!

  17. You rock and I am happy to see you, congrats on the study and hope to hear more from you soon

  18. tric says:

    Great to hear from you. I was wondering how you were doing. Sounds like you are doing magnificently. Well done.

  19. Patty O says:

    Welcome back Cranky! I, too, have been absent since February(ish). Health problems exploded, but I’m working my way back! I just need to take time to sit on my rear and write! I look forward to hearing more about your collegiate career!!! Way to go!!!

Leave a Reply

