Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Writers Deux It With Words

on June 20, 2013

pas-de-deux_Layer-2

“PAS DE DEUX –  an intricate relationship or activity involving two parties or things”
Daily Prompt: Tagline
by michelle w. on June 19, 2013

Often, our blogs have taglines. But what if humans did, too? What would your tagline be?

A reader opens a book and prepares to join the writer in a literary dance.  The writer has set down the words, choreographed the setting, the characters and the plot for the reader to follow, step by step.  The reader is ready to be swept away with the story and joins the writer on the stage of words; dancing in time with the story. Together, they form a Pas de deux.

As writers, we open our imaginations, our thoughts and our views to our readers and invite them to join us in a one on one relationship for a short time.  We want to let them lose themselves in our fantasies, our stories or our poems.  We share our feelings in our words and when the words are right, the reader feels our emotions.  It is a wonderful thing when that happens.

So, if I had to pick a tagline for who I am, what I do and how I do it, I would choose “Writers Deux It With Words”.  For I use my words to invite the reader to join me in the dance.

And, we all want to dance, don’t we?

Photo credits: Lucinda Dunn and Robert Curran in Don Quixote. Photo Justin Smith


14 responses to “Writers Deux It With Words

  1. Bastet says:

    A very interesting view, and a great play on words! 🙂

  2. ioniamartin says:

    Love it. You always find a way to make me laugh and think at the same time.

  3. Im dancing the same dance as you, only my feet get tangled up, I stumble and fall. I then get back up, sharpen my pencil and try again. Keep up the fantastic work, can’t wait to see your name in print when you finish that book!

  4. ittymac says:

    …when you get a chance to sit it out or dance, Dance…

  5. btg5885 says:

    I don’t know…”pas de deux” sound pretty interesting. You may want to use that one. Have a great summer. Spin a few more of your great stories and do some of the “pas de deux” stuff for fun. Take care, BTG

Leave a comment