Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

A Day To Celebrate And A Fond Farewell

on June 30, 2013

1243863474433

Oh yeah..I’m dancing my old butt off!  So much to tell you all I just don’t know where to begin!

Okay, the most important thing…I’M NOW A PUBLISHED WRITER.  Can you dig it?  Can you believe it?  And you know what, it’s all because of you, my readers and fellow bloggers.  You pushed me with your comments, your encouraging words and your support and now, it is a reality.  I have a short story published and what a feeling it is!

You have helped me make a life long dream come true.  I have passed a milestone and you were by my side all the way.  You might not believe it, but, my eyes are tearing up as I write this.  You guys Rock!

I have also been working on creating a new blog.  WHAT?  Am I crazy…don’t I have enough to do?  Has Cranky finally gone off the deep end?

No, my friends.  I just felt that now that I am starting to experience a little success, I wanted to let others join in my journey and let me pass on some of the support and motivation that you have here on my personal blog.  I hope to use the new site to highlight blogs on writing that I discover, publishers that want our work and let people know that if this old fart can do..anyone can!

On the advice of one of the first bloggers that ever did me the honor of visiting my site and following me, Aurora of Metal Angel, I also got a domain name.  She warned me that some less than scrupulous people were watching for up and coming authors and would snatch their domain name with the intentions of selling it to the Authors for an tidy profit for them.  So for anyone that want’s to get to my sites, you can now use my http://memcmahon.wordpress.com and you’ll find me.  Thanks my friend! Check out her site, she’s a great girl!

Now, nothing ever comes without a price.  I have tried for two days to keep Mrs. Gulch on this site, while having my picture (as amateur as it is) appear on my new site.  No matter what I did, I couldn’t seem to get it to work.  So, I’ve had to wave goodbye to Mrs. Gulch and send her on her way back to OZ.  Hope she avoids falling houses on the way.  So, a fond farewell to you Mrs. Gulch, you’ve served me well and I’ll miss you.

So, my friends, I hope that you’ll hop on over to my new site and visit.  Click here on “A Dream Come True” and take a look around.  I’d love to hear what you think of it.

Also, my short story is now available on Alphie Dog Fiction and you can take a peek!  You’ll find it down the list under M E McMahon and they give you a sneak peek at the content.  I have two more scheduled for publication in July, so I’ll keep you updated when they’re available.

Now, many of you know that I don’t drink alcohol, so would you do the Cranky a favor?  Tip one for me tonight and wish me well!  And, don’t worry.  Grandma Says is still going to be my site to put all my personal stuff, you know, my thoughts, my views and my ridiculous animated pictures.  I love you all and hope to hear from you soon.

Love,

Cranky

49 responses to “A Day To Celebrate And A Fond Farewell

  1. Angie says:

    Congratulations!!! Keep on dancing 😀

  2. TamrahJo says:

    Congrats! A Toast! {self-clink of wine glass..sip…sip…ahhhh…}
    🙂
    Nice to see a pic of you, but must admit, it will take a while for me to not look for Ms. Gulch as I look through my reader….

  3. TamrahJo says:

    and the link – mcmahon.com did not take me to where I think you intended me to go…

  4. TamrahJo says:

    replace link above with

    http://memcmahon.wordpress.com/

    And it gets people to your site… Feel free to delete this comment! 😀

  5. grannyK says:

    A HUGE congrats! I have always loved writing and I never cared if I was any good. It just feels good to do it. I am so happy for you. I am going to check out the new site now.

  6. tric says:

    I will so miss your regular posts on this site but now I know where else you hang out I will stalk you elsewhere.

  7. I’m so happy for you! 😀 congratulations Cranky!

  8. Congratulations! I think it is only fitting that Mrs. Gulch fades away. It marks your transformation from Cranky Caregiver to Fulfilled Writer.

  9. Leanne says:

    Congratulations! I am so proud of you, and I wish you well in your success! I’ll be sure to leave my footprints on both sites. 😉

  10. So proud of you! You’re my hero! Maybe someday I’ll get my poems in a book, Grandma says I can!

  11. Congratulations and much success! 🙂

  12. John says:

    Congrats, Cranky … well done, indeed!

  13. Sugar Bee Chronicles says:

    Enjoy! I know the feeling of being a published writer–I experienced my first published work back in — ha hem!1975 — and I wish you the best.

  14. keladelaide says:

    Bet you’re proud as punch. I hope to share some news in the not-too-distant future too.

  15. helensamia says:

    Great… You just keep us posted so we can go check out your stories… We can say we knew you when you got started!! 😜😜😜😜

  16. barbtaub says:

    Hey Cranky-readers! You’ve GOTTA get her short story (“The Confession” — http://alfiedog.com/?s=mcmahon) — best deal in town! For us over-the-pond types, it only costs £.39, and it’s terrific.

    Congrats on the new blog, the great first publication, and life as a published writer!

    • M E McMahon says:

      Thanks for the glowing review and promotion! I’m still reeling from the thought that this old fart actually accomplished a first step towards realizing a life long dream. And it’s people like you that helped me along the way. Can’t thank you enough!

  17. Bastet says:

    This evening it’s Pinot Chardonney!!!! Yippy fantastic woman! And congrats on your new blog too…so you’ll be doing two??? Will be looking to the sneak preview… 😀

  18. Shainbird says:

    Congratulations Cranky! I had to do a double take to make sure it was you (now that Gulch is gone). I look forward to your new site and your short story! 🙂

  19. DebbyGies says:

    Congratulations M E, I will miss Mrs. Gulch too, lol. I will be sure to follow your new site.

  20. Patty O says:

    Obviously I’m finally catching up on my blog reading…CONGRATULATIONS! And yes, I will check out your new blog – right now!

  21. […] (heaven’s forbid!) a real life photo for her more serious blog…out went Mrs. Gulch!  Here’s the story and the follow-up is on her next page…lovingly funny as always!  Her new Blog is […]

Leave a Reply

